The New York American College of Emergency Physicians exists to support quality emergency medical care and to promote the interest of emergency physicians.

Send Request

EM Physician CME Requirements

Unlike many states in the US, New York State does not require physicians to earn a CME credit total amount to obtain or maintain a license to practice medicinei. However, there are a number of specific CME requirements that the state, accrediting bodies and individual facilities mandate that all physicians in New York should be aware of. The list below is of the most common CME requirements for EM physicians in New York State and is not meant to be exhaustive, as your individual facility or health system may have more specific requirements.

New York State Mandatory Requirements for all Physicians

  • Infection Control:  All physicians must complete coursework regarding infection control and barrier precautions. This must be completed when applying for initial licensure and every 4 years subsequentlyii.
  • Child Abuse: All physicians must complete 2 hours of coursework regarding identification and reporting of child abuse and mistreatment. This must be completed only when applying for initial licensure.  Physicians completing medical school in New York State are exempt. Completion of residency in New York State does not exempt you from this requirementiii.
  • Opiate Prescribing and Palliative Care: Beginning July 1, 2017, all licensed prescribers (including residents) are mandated to complete 3 hours of coursework in pain management, palliative care and addiction. The coursework must include the 8 mandatory topics listed by the New York State Department of Health, so clinicians must ensure that the coursework being used meets these requirements. This training must be completed every 3 yearsiv.

Hospital Specific Requirements

  • Very important to be aware of hospital/health-system specific CME requirements for credentialing. This is not a state-mandated requirement, however, many facilities have incorporated these requirements into their bylaws or medical staff privileging/credentialing processes.

New York State Designated Stroke Center

  • Training requirements for all clinicians who are part of the stroke team include: 8 CME credits in the first year, and 4 credits annually in subsequent years, specific to the area of cerebrovascular diseasev.
  • Some facilities have modified this requirement to mandate clinicians complete National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS) certification trainingvi. Clinicians should check with the stroke center leadership in their facility for clarification.

The Joint Commission (TJC) Certified Stroke Center

  • If you facility is a TJC certified primary or comprehensive stroke center, many emergency medicine physicians are listed as “core stroke team” members. Those clinicians are required to complete 8 credits annuallyvii.

American College of Surgeons Verified Trauma Center

  • The physician designated as the Emergency Medicine Liaison to the trauma program must complete an average of 16 hours annually or 48 hours in 3 years of verifiable external trauma-related CMEviii.

i http://www.medscape.org/public/staterequirements
ii http://www.op.nysed.gov/training/icmemo.htm
iii http://www.op.nysed.gov/training/camemo.htm
iv https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/narcotic/mandatory_prescriber_education/
v https://www.health.ny.gov/facilities/hospital/stroke_centers/stroke_faq.htm
vi https://secure.trainingcampus.net/uas/modules/trees/windex.aspx?rx=nihss-english.trainingcampus.net
vii https://www.jointcommission.org/assets/1/18/DSC_Stroke_Program_Grid_Flyer_2017.pdf
viii https://www.facs.org/~/media/files/quality%20programs/trauma/vrc%20resources/1_chapter_23%20new%20criteria%20reference%20guide%20v1.ashx