The New York American College of Emergency Physicians exists to support quality emergency medical care and to promote the interest of emergency physicians.

New York Emergency Medicine Political Action Committee

The New York Emergency Medicine Political Action Committee (NYEMPAC) will promote and strive for the improvement of government by encouraging and stimulating emergency physicians and others to take a more active and effective part in governmental affairs.


Encourage emergency physicians and others to understand the nature and actions of their government, the important political issues, and the records of officeholders and candidates for office.

Encourage emergency physicians to contribute to NYEMPAC to raise emergency medicine influence in the state capitol.
NYEMPAC contributes to the election campaigns of candidates for state office who support emergency medicine issues. NYEMPAC is governed by a Board of Trustees, who direct the organization’s contributions. NYEMPAC makes contributions to members of both political parties. The NYEMPAC Board works with New York ACEP’s lobbyists and staff to identify candidates who are sensitive to the concerns of emergency physicians and patients seeking emergency care.

Board of Trustees
Daniel G. Murphy, MD MBA FACEP, St. Barnabas Hospital, Chair
Brahim Ardolic, MD FACEP, Staten Island University Hospital, Vice Chair
JoAnne Tarantelli, New York ACEP Executive Director, NYEMPAC Treasurer
Jeremy T. Cushman, MD MS FACEP, University of Rochester
Sydney E. DeAngelis, MD FACEP, Brookhaven Memorial Hospital Medical Center
Keith E. Grams, MD FACEP, Rochester General Hospital
Louise A. Prince, MD FACEP, SUNY Upstate Medical University