Emergency Medicine Resident Committee

The Emergency Medicine Resident Committee provides a unified voice for emergency medicine residents in New York State.
  • Ensure that residents have an opportunity to observe and participate in leadership activities at the state and national level
  • Serve as a source for communication and interchange for ideas among emergency medicine residents in New York State
  • Ensure that residents have an opportunity to observe and participate in leadership activities at the state and national level
  • Promote advocacy during residency training by working with residency directors to enhance advocacy and leadership in the residency curriculum
  • Explore ways to coordinate statewide participation in New York ACEP committees and activities
  • Encourage and support emergency medicine education and training.
  • Organize the annual career day for emergency medicine residents
  • Implement the annual medical student symposium
  • Promote membership in ACEP to colleagues
The qualification for committee membership in EMRC shall be candidate membership in New York ACEP. The committee shall be composed of one New York ACEP candidate member and one alternate from each Emergency Medicine Residency in New York State. Each committee member shall represent their respective residencies at all Emergency Medicine Resident committee meetings. Committee members and their alternates shall be elected by their respective residencies for appointment to the committee by the President of New York ACEP.
icon-phone 2The Emergency Medicine Resident Committee meets by conference call monthly, on the first Wednesday at 2:00 pm. Click on the Calendar to view all New York ACEP events including conference calls.
          2017 call dates: January 4, February 8, March 1, April 5, May 3, June 7
2016-2017 Committee
Justin Fuehrer, DO, Long Island Jewish Medical Center, Chair
Trent She, MD, Mount Sinai Beth Israel, Vice Chair
Abbas Husain, MD FACEP, Staten Island University Hospital, Board Liaison

Albany Medical Center
Stephen Verdini, DO

Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Jacobi Medical Center
Priya J. Ghelani, DO

Bellevue Hospital Center
Julia Paris, MD
Alternate: Luis Villegas, MD

Brooklyn Hospital Center
Iain Jeffery, DO
Alternate: Avinash Viswanath, MD

Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center
Daniel Engelberg, DO

Lincoln Medical & Mental Health Center
Elizabeth Johnson, MD

Long Island Jewish Medical Center
Justin Fuehrer, DO
Alternate: Laura E. Tortora, MD

Maimonides Medical Center
Vishal Gulati, MD
Alternate: Christopher Young, MD

Metropolitan Hospital Center
Anthony J. Almeida, DO

Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Trent She, MD

Mount Sinai Medical Center
Jacqueline Paulis, MD
Alternate: Angela Chen, MD  
Mount Sinai St. Luke's
Emily Arena, MD
Nassau University Medical Center
Nicholas C. Reis, DO
New York Methodist Hospital
Megan Trzaskoma, DO

NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital
Sean Bandzar, MD
Alternate: B. Judy Choe, MD
Christine Sutu, MD
Alternate: Bradley Rockoff, MD
North Shore University Hospital
David M. Reens, MD
Alternate: Timothy Palmieri, MD
St. Barnabas Hospital
Christina Hajicharalambous, DO
Staten Island University Hospital
Ilya Litvak, DO
Alternate: Mikhail Podlog, DO
SUNY Buffalo
John Kiel, DO
SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Vladimir Thomas, MD
Alternate: Olumide Akindutire, MD
SUNY Stony Brook
Kartik Shah, MD

SUNY Upstate Medical University
Vincent Calleo, MD
Alternate: Matthew P. Camara, MD
University of Rochester
Matthew Merriman, MD

Alternate: Mandeep Lehil, MD